Pray the Rosary

The purpose of the Rosary is to help keep in memory certain principal events or Mysteries in the history of our salvation, and to thank and praise God for them.

There are twenty Mysteries reflected upon in the Rosary, and these are divided into the five Joyful Mysteries, the five Luminous Mysteries, the five Sorrowful Mysteries, and the five Glorious Mysteries.

Make the Sign of the Cross and say the “Apostles’ Creed.”

1. Pray the “Our Father.”
2. Pray three “Hail Marys.” While you pray these three Hail Marys, meditate on the three divine virtues of faith, hope, and love/charity.
3. Pray the “Glory be to the Father.”
4. Announce the First Mystery; then pray the “Our Father.”
5 Pray ten “Hail Marys,” while meditating on the Mystery.
6. Pray the “Glory be to the Father.”
7. After each decade say the following prayer requested by the Blessed Virgin Mary at Fatima: “O my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell, lead all souls to Heaven, especially those who have most need of your mercy.”
8. Announce the Second Mystery; then pray the “Our Father.” Repeat 5, 6 and 7 and continue with Third, Fourth and Fifth Mysteries in the same manner.
9. Pray the Salve Regina Prayer:
HAIL, HOLY QUEEN, Mother of Mercy, our life, our sweetness and our hope! To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve; to thee do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears. Turn then, most gracious advocate, thine eyes of mercy toward us, and after this our exile, show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb, Jesus. O clement, O loving, O sweet Virgin Mary!

V. Pray for us, O Holy Mother of God.

R. That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.
Let us pray. O GOD, whose only begotten Son, by His life, death, and resurrection, has purchased for us the rewards of eternal life, grant, we beseech Thee, that meditating upon these mysteries of the Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, we may imitate what they contain and obtain what they promise, through the same Christ Our Lord. Amen.

As suggested by the Pope John Paul II the Joyful mysteries are said on Monday and Saturday, the Luminous on Thursday, the Sorrowful on Tuesday and Friday, and the Glorious on Wednesday and Sunday (with this exception: Sundays of Christmas season – The Joyful; Sundays of Lent – Sorrowful)

To learn more about the Rosary, click here.